Socks and more socks

Yes, I have become addicted to sock knitting!.  I’ve finished several pairs for me (even), 2 pairs for my cousin and now a half and a bit for a friend.  I got used to using 5 needles, well sort of, then found a workshop (The knitting Hut – on facebook and http://www.theknittinghut.co.uk/Knitting_Hut_Home.html)  on how to knit ‘toe up’ socks with a round needle.  I did struggle with the first pair, learning how to ‘wrap and turn’ and knitting ‘wrapped’ and ‘double wrapped’ stitches.  Now that I’ve de-mystified the instructions and added my own details on how many rounds to do (I just can’t see the difference in the stitches as a place holder), this is a much easier pattern.  Apart from the toe and heel shaping there is no other shaping just straight knitting.  And it is difficult to pull the needles out of the stitches, unlike using 5/4 needles!.

Leave a Reply

