Linus crazy quilt-as-you-go

Making quilts for the Linus charity (that gives the quilts to seriously ill children – see http://projectlinusuk.org.uk/) is one of my favourite on-going sewing activities.  The latest of my total creations is this crazy quilt-as-you-go, using materials mostly provided by Linus.  I had been stashing away some of the lovely blue material for a while waiting for the pattern to do justice to them.  All the block joining strips and the binding are from leftover pieces, hence the ‘mix and match’ look, which I really like.

 I wanted to learn the ‘quilt-as-you-go’ technique, and The Bramble Patch (where I sew for Linus – https://thebramblepatch.co.uk/default.aspx) had a day course making this crazy quilt-as-you-go.  So I actually learned two new techniques – how to do the crazy quilting, and the quilt-as-you-go. 

 I enjoyed the quilt-as-you-go;yes there is a lot of hand sewing, but that was a wonderful excuse to sit in my conservatory in the sunshine of the previous weeks.

Leave a Reply

