Square in a square quilt

 
Yes this quilt is finished and living with a happy owner.  I was really pleased with the finished effect – the colours work really well together and with the design.  Sadly the photos I took do not do the colours justice – you will get a better idea of colour from the photos in earlier blogs.

I found out the name for this design is ‘square in a square’ ; my quilt is a variation on the sample I saw – I always want to change something!  After experimenting, I decided that using 2 different materials in similar colours for the inner square surrounds gives more interest and variety.  Although the ivory square surrounds may look the same they are 2 different materials in each square. 

The owners choice for quilting was for straight lines and the diamond design echoes the square motif.  I used 3 different multi-coloured threads in shades of cinnamon, green and ivory to give a subtle effect. 

Leave a Reply

