Hand Quilted Baby Blanket

Extract from quilt

Extract from quilt

At last, at last this is finished.  I really wanted to make a quilt for a baby due early 2011, but didn’t get started until I saw a kit towards the end of February.  I liked what I could see of the design and as the quilting lines were already marked, thought this would be a good choice.  What I didn’t know until I unpacked it was just how much quilting there was to do!.  The material is lovely soft cotton flannel but the design covers almost all of the space!. 

The design is of African Baobab trees with an Owl in each tree.  Surrounding the trees are Lions, Tigers, Elephants, Zebras, Giraffes and Monkeys. The front material is cream with hand quilting in blue, red, dark green and light green.  The back is cream with brown and blue spots.  The finished blanket is 35” by 44” with a pale blue satin binding.

I was rather daunted especially as most of the pattern is very intricate.  I realised I would have to hand quilt it – only my second attempt at hand quilting.  Well I started and stopped and then started again.  Calling this a challenge is not exaggerating!.   I developed a strategy of doing the most complicated designs first (the trees because of the multitude of leaves!) and working down to the easiest.  Once I had got half way, the motivation to finish kicked in and after (only) 7 months I got to the end!. 

Unfortunately I couldn’t get a good photo of the finished quilt, I think partly because of the cream colour.  The only way to show it was with an extract and even that does not do justice to the colour or the intricacy of the design. 

 The following slideshow is of a booklet that came with the kit explaining the meaning behind the Baobab Tree and a sketch of the pattern. The pattern is by “2Mod Moms for RJR Fabrics”

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Yann
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 18:32:38

    I like the helpful info you provide in your articles. I’ll bookmark your weblog and check again here regularly. I’m quite certain I will learn
    plenty of new stuff right here! Best of luck for the next!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

